Subjects Taught
Child Development

Education

I received my BS degree in Special Education from The University of Akron In Akron, Ohio. I went on to receive my Masters in Education specializing in Divergent Learning from Columbia College in Columbia, South Carolina. I also am highly qualified in Math and Reading.

 



Experience

This year is my 10th year of teaching in GCSD. I taught three years at Waccamaw Middle School teaching Special Education in the 6-8th grades.  This is my seventh year in the pre-k disabilities classroom at Waccamaw Elementary.

Although I love children of all ages, I find that I can be more creative and fun with the little ones. I get to sing, dance, paint and be creative. Everyday is a joy to come to work.



Bio

 

Growing Up: I grew up in Dennison, Ohio a small town of roughly 2,500 people. My family lived in the country where we raised our own cows and grew/canned our own vegetables. So I guess you could kind of say I have a little bit of "farm girl" in me. My dad still lives in the house I grew up in. I have seven brothers and two sisters, and lots of nieces and nephews. I love coming from such a big family. My whole family is extremely important to me.

My Current Life: I am married to my best friend Chris whom I met right out of high school.  We have a three year old little boy named Chase and another little boy on the way who will arrive in late October.  We also have a dog named Maggie, our black lab. We take her everywhere.

My hobbies: I absolutely love sports.  I love to play just about any sport and am active in softball, volleyball and basketball.  I also enjoy watching football.  I love the Pittsburgh Steelers, probably a little too much. Football season is my favorite time of year! I also enjoy going to the beach, traveling, camping, and doing pretty much anything outdoors.